Posted by: theheartlander | January 14, 2011

Congressman West’s first week in Congress

I do hope all West to the West Wing 2012 readers are fans/followers of Allen West’s own Facebook page. This is where Congressman West himself posts what he wants his constituents as well as all of us, his supporters all over the country, to see and read. There are lots of nice treats such as photos of the Congressman, his family and other notables, not to mention his weekly updates, which are wonderful. Judging from his “update” letters since his election on November 2, I would venture the opinion that his letters are among the most engaging, interesting, inspiring and even, with some regularity, amusing, of any Congressperson!

You should go to Facebook and read the whole thing (you don’t have to be a Facebook member to read it, only to comment on it), but here are some excerpts:

Last week got off to a thrilling start with an interview with Chris Wallace on Fox News Sunday. I truly enjoyed the opportunity to express my positions on the critical economic issue which we face. It was extremely important for me to convey to Mr. Wallace that I do not believe in fear-mongering leadership. No one follows an individual who panics or instills fear in tough situations, people are drawn to those who calmly outline a vision for success and victory….

Swearing in day began as a Soldier would have it, a 0500 hrs run with two friends, Brendan Barry and Vince Virga along the National Mall from the Capitol down to the Lincoln Memorial. It was a nice 7 mile run for me but enabled me to put all this into perspective. As an American Warrior, my life has been spent standing upon freedoms rampart guarding the institutions of liberty for our Constitutional Republic. Later that day, I would again take the oath first taken on 31 July 1982 but this time I would be serving inside one the institutions that make America great, yes, exceptional. The middle Son of Buck and Snooks (my parents’ nicknames) would soon be walking among places of greatness.

The first ceremony of the day was to be sworn into the Congressional Black Caucus, the first Republican in almost 20 years. It was the right thing to do and regardless of the media attention, all went well and the reception was just fantastic. When Representative John Lewis came up that day to shake my hand, I reminisced the days when my parents voted for him…and I told him such. I let him know that I attended Henry Grady High School  and he let me know that his dry cleaners is the one across the street from my Alma Mater, which I clearly remember. Incoming CBC Chairman Rep Cleaver spoke about “rebuilding the wall”, and I told him that after having stood as a sentinel upon the external wall of freedom…….I am ready to take my post on the wall of restoring our Republic, recommitting to our principles, and reclaiming our American pride.

So enough of that memorable stuff, you all sent me up here to work so here are some key points;

–          I had a meeting with the Obama Administration Deputy Director for Legislative Affairs to the US House, Dan Turton, on Thursday. We presented him with a letter outlining three major focus areas, small business growth, Afghanistan (to include concerns about Rules of Engagement and our heinously imprisoned American soldiers), and relations with the State of Israel.

–          I had my first two House GOP meetings with the Armed Services and Small Business Committees. I will be canvassing for small business owners who wish to come and testify before the committee. As the schedule permits, I will be taking a CODEL (Congressional Delegation) visit to Afghanistan.

–          I signed on as a co-sponsor on several pieces of legislation, some as an original cosponsor;  Repeal of Obamacare, Balanced Budget Amendment, Prohibition of Federal funding to Public Broadcasting, End of Lame Duck Act, Repeal of Obamacare Individual Mandate, Title X Abortion Provider Prohibition (ending federal taxpayer funding to abortions), and the Birthright Citizenship Bill (prohibiting use of 14th Amendment for children born to illegal immigrants in America), and Stand Alone requirement for Defense Appropriations (MILCOM/Veterans Affairs) Bills.

There has been a lot of media attention given to me and you all must realize that I shall always be straight and to the point. One thing I have seen here already is that truth seems to be subjective and relative in the D.C. world. And as Jack Nicholson’s character COL. Nathan Jessup stated in the movie “A Few Good Men”, there are those who cannot handle the truth.

The strangest things this week: First, the taxpayer funded Institution of Peace.  Funny, I thought that was the business of the Pentagon. It is a lovely building just off the back corner from the Lincoln Memorial.

Second, standing at the media interview area in the Cannon rotunda and watching a Democrat Congressman apply makeup on his face, and it was his own personal makeup. If anyone ever sees me applying makeup to myself, you have explicit orders to ask a Capitol Hill Police Officer to arrest me.

I was in the district through this past Tuesday morning and  attended  the Palm Beach Police officers ball Saturday and the Zionist of America meeting in Boca Raton on Sunday.  Saturday morning, I had an appearance on Fox and Friends.

In closing, it is an honor to serve all of you, those who voted for me and those who did not.

Steadfast and Loyal,

Allen

Leave a Reply

Categories

