Posted by: theheartlander | November 19, 2010

Q & A with Allen West

OK, I admit it.  I’m a sucker for those hokey little bullet-point celebrity questionnaires where they ask people things like “If you were an animal, what kind would you be?” or “Who was your favorite Beatle?”

I’m a little embarrassed to admit I read those things — I consider them kind of a guilty pleasure.

But when I came across this little interview with Allen West, I didn’t feel guilty at all.  I felt uplifted!

1. If there were a television channel that only showed one movie over and over, what movie should it be?

WEST:  Spartacus, the original with Kirk Douglas.

2. What’s one of your favorite movie quotes?

WEST:  The entire opening monologue given by George C Scott portraying Gen. George S Patton.

3. In A Clockwork Orange, Malcolm McDowell is strapped in with his eyes propped open and forced to watch images until he was “cured.” If you could give President Obama, Speaker Nancy Pelosi and Leader Harry Reid the “Clockwork Orange treatment,” what movie would you make them watch?

WEST:  The Patriot.

4. What pop culture souvenir do you own that people would be surprised to learn that you cherish?

WEST:  I actually don’t have any pop culture souvenirs, sorry.

5. What’s your current “guilty pleasure” non-news television show?

WEST:  ESPN, especially since it is now the greatest time of the year, College Football time!

6. What books were on your summer reading list?

WEST:  Unsustainable, Control Freaks, and Churchill as War Leader.

7. What was the first concert you ever attended and where did you sit and who went with you?

WEST:   In high school went to see Brothers Johnson and Earth, Wind, and Fire at the Omni in Atlanta. Sat in the upper deck directly in front of stage. However, my date dumped me afterwards … her loss, huh?

8. Tell me about a public or private moment when you thought to yourself, “This is what Elvis felt like every day.”

WEST:  Standing before and addressing a packed house at CPAC in February 2010, incredible.

9. If Republicans and Democrats had theme songs for 2010 what would they be?

WEST:  GOP would be Dion’s song “The Wanderer” and Democrats, Rick James, “Superfreak.”

10. What’s the coolest thing you’ve been able to do because of your role in the political arena?

WEST:  Connect with the people in South Florida and all across America getting them to recommit to our foundational principles and values.

11. What question do you wish reporters would ask you? What’s your answer to that question?

WEST:  What drives you?  The answer: my love of this country and my desire to secure the legacy and future of our constitutional republic.

12. Tell me about the moment you decided to enter the political arena.

WEST:  It was a big decision for me because this is not what I expected for my life after retiring after 22 years active duty service in the U.S. Army. However, when you have a heart of serving this nation, when asked, you respond and give it your all. Therefore, when in January 2007 it was brought to me as I finished my 10-day break from Afghanistan, I prayed, talked to my family, and decided to continue to serve America in a different capacity.


Responses

  1. (aka JOY) As more & more of us are beginning to know Allen West – we’ve really only heard his name – we’ve found that there is much to admire in this principled man – and we look forward to his service to our country in WHATEVER capacity he and God have so ordained! I know that we’re damn lucky to have him on OUR side!


Leave a comment

Categories